imgres.jpg

I’ve been wanting to do a deep dive on this album since the first time I listened to “Black Narcissist”.  For one reason or another it’s been years and I still haven’t listened to this album from front to back. So I amended this issue this month and would like to share my thoughts on the album Power To The People.

The album begins on an incredibly high note with “Black Narcissist” definitely my favorite track on the entire album. I love the 3/4 time signature, love the slash chords and the melody cuts like a knife through this harmony. It’s just a brilliant tune, an instant classic and a jazz standard.

The following track “Afro- Centric” is  also a jazz standard and was really quite a progressive tune for the time. This tune shows where jazz was heading, lots of electronics, funky rhythms and experimental “out” soloing. I like this track, but I don’t live it. I feel like the general population embraces this tune more than I do.

This album is rather short at 7 tracks so I won’t go into every one of them in depth. I will say that all tunes fall into 2 categories. Out experiential jazz, or mother traditional jazz music. If you cut this album in half into 2 EP’s you would have two dramatically differ works. In general I’m more of a progressive experimental jazz person, but on this album I tend to like the more “traditional” songs better. My personal favorites are “Black Narcissist” and “Opus-One-Point-Five”.
Overall I have to recommend this album because of “Black Narcissist” alone. I love that tune that much. Still even looking at the other 6 tunes it’s a worthwhile listen. The album is short and sweet with a variety of different styles and sounds. It may have taken me a few years to give this album a thorough listen to, but I’ll be returning to it much sooner than that.

Leave a Reply

