Just some random thoughts that I wanted to share with you for 2017 and beyond.

•Idk what the best album of the year is so far

Five months into the year and I feel that we have had a lot of high quality releases without many that stand out above the rest. I mean this in the best way possible. Plenty of really good albums out there but no clear cut favorite for me.

 

•Music has been good this year, but not as good as last year

imgres.jpg

I’ve enjoyed this year’s releases very much, but I feel that last year was a bit stronger. The year is still young and I haven’t fully dived into my “Best of the year so far” blog so maybe after more research I will have a different perspective, but for now 206 is beating 2017.

 

•I’m going to go to more summer concerts

images.jpg

Overall I always want to improve as a performer, writer, and a fan of music. That means going to more performances. I’m certain I will be attending more concerts this summer. Some local concerts I’m looking forward to are Grant Park Music Festival, Blues Fest, Jazz fest, and Ear Taxi to name a few. How about you?
•I’m going to see all Big 5 orchestras

images.jpg

This is kind of a 2017/18 goal but I want to see all Big 5 orchestras CSO, Cleveland Institute, New York Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, and Philadelphia Orchestra. Hopefully I can get started this fall and finish by next spring.
•The Jazz Loops Day are numbered

imgres.jpg

I’ve loved writing for the Jazz Loop. It’s helped me so much as a writer, as a musician, and as a fan of jazz music. Now that my career is well underway I find myself spending all my time teaching, performing, and recording. This is all fantastic, but squeezing in time to write for The Jazz Loop is getting harder and harder and with my other website needing constant articles as well I think it’s time I fully focus on my career and let The Jazz Loop go. This saddens me a bit as a have so much fun doing this, but I think it’s time. Still, don’t worry I will keep blogging for the rest of 2017 and re-evaluate the situation going on to 2018. I will give all of you an update as soon as I’m certain.
That’s it for today’s blog. Any thoughts on your mind on the Jazz scene? Any concerts or events your looking forward to for 2017? Worried about The Jazz Loop ending? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

