Earlier this month I did a First Listen of Branford Marsalis’ album I Heard You Twice The First Time. I live tweeted the experience on my twitter @EdwinGarcia88 here are some of the tweets:


And now that I’ve had some time to listen back to the album I’d like to share with you my overall thoughts. I was genuinely surprised with how much I enjoyed this album. I like the Blues as much as the next person, but sometimes an entire album can become tiresome and repetitive. I Heard You Twice The First Time was neither of these things. It was refreshing and changed just enough track by track to keep me interested. Whether it’s the social issues brought up in “Brother Trying to Catch a Cab”, the killer guitar solo on “B.B. Blues”, or the monk inspired tune “Straight from the Ghetto”, I always wanted more.
This album was an absolute pleasure to listen to, and if you’re even remotely in the mood for some blues this album should quench that thirst. The album spans a little over an hour, but feels relatively short. I would consider this album one of Branford Marsalis’ hidden gems, it has good but not glowing reviews and can be found in most record stores for a low price. Pick it up if you can or stream it on your favorite platform.

Leave a Reply

