Recently I did a First Listen of Thelonious  Monk’s Brilliant Corners. FIRST LISTEN is a new series I started where I listen to a classic jazz album I haven’t listened to before and I live tweet the experience. Below I posted my tweets of this experience.

IMG_2746 (2)

IMG_2745 (1)
IMG_2744

IMG_2743
Now that I’ve had some multiple listens of the album I’d like to share some of the thoughts I have regarding the album. Personally this has quickly grown into one of my favorite Monk albums. I love the compositions, the solos, and there is a clear balance of different styles of tunes. Another reasons I think I’ve gravitated towards this album is because so many of these compositions were new to me. I’ve listened to so much Monk in my life and it’s been a while since I’ve found an album with this many new tunes for me to hear and that was refreshing for me.

Leave a Reply

