I started blogging on January 29th and did not know what to expect. I did know that I wanted to express my ideas and love for Jazz by not just playing, but by writing about it. I’m not a fan of New Years Resolutions,but I decided to make it one of my goals to blog consistently about Jazz. Six months later The Jazz Loop is still going strong. Not only has my blog been a success,but I’ve also learned a lot about myself which I would like to share with you now.

I did not realize that writing for this blog would make me feel so accomplished. I don’t mean to sound arrogant or cocky what I mean is when I completed my first blog, I felt like I achieved something. I created something, it was out there for all to see, I was a writer, I had a brand. Watching my views rise and seeing people I never met liking my blog gave me a tremendous amount of pride and made me feel like blogging about Jazz was worthwhile. I had to keep going and I still feel that sense of accomplishment after every post. I’m helping the cause, Jazz will continue to grow and prosper, we are in this together, and I’m leading the way.

One of my favorite rappers (yes I listen to hip hop at times) Immortal Technique once said “There is a market for everything”. I essentially knew this going in, but it was still refreshing and encouraging to see my views and support grow as the posts and months have passed. Yes it’s hard and I have long way to go to make the impact I want, but I feel that I’m heading in the right direction. And yes, Technique was right “There is a market for everything” and there is a market for Jazz music and a discussion about Jazz has begun, on this blog.

This past month I broke past 300 views on my blog. Compared to other blogs this is a very small number, but I have increased my posts and, to no surprise, my blog views have grown exponentially in the past two months. For that, I thank you, because without you guys supporting this blog, my voice would be worthless. So what’s next for The Jazz Loop for the rest of 2013? I have some plans, but essentially my mission is this: Continue blogging as much as possible, reviewing Jazz albums on a weekly basis, and to continue discussing all things Jazz happening in Chicago. At the halfway point of the year I am surprised and excited about what has been accomplished and what is left to accomplished. So stay tuned, and, as always, thank you for staying in The Jazz Loop

2 thoughts on “Midyear Reflection

Leave a Reply

